Braided In Time : 55-Fiction


dove-split-ends

Image Courtesy: Google

This post is an entry for theBeautiful Ends To Your Beautiful Braidscontest, powered by Indiblogger, in collaboration with Dove Split Ends Rescue System

Vote for my post here.

 

 

 

The Husband

“You are looking beautiful in this saree, wifey.”

“What is my gift this anniversary?”

Light turned off the man’s face.

He came up silently behind his wife, standing in front of a makeshift mirror.

In the shimmering silver of a full moon through their cracked ceiling, he pinned a gajra carefully on her lengthy braid.

The Father

“Dad, how do I look in these braids?”

“Where did you..How on earth did you get hold of..?”

“It’s mom’s.”

“But..she’s gone for years.”

“She left this as a parting gift because I loved it.”

“You look exactly like her when she was sixteen.”

Mom looked at them smiling from a framed photograph.

The Grandfather

“Bye, Grandpa. I’m getting late for college.”

“Why are you in such fancy dress today?”

“Today is our ethnic day. Not only that, its a pre-independence theme.”

Now grandpa takes a closer look and is mesmerized.

“I see you have braided your beautiful hair, for a change!”

“And I’m also wearing grandma’s silk.”

Smile. Bliss.

5 thoughts on “Braided In Time : 55-Fiction

  1. good stories…..a good variety exploring multiple emotions……i love this genre of 55ers…..I am sort of obsessed with them….have written more than 50 of them ^_^

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.